Workshop

INSPIRATION & WORKSHOP

Bringing “natural” works to life offers me a unique opportunity to let go. Emotion invades me; it diffuses the intangible into the tangible.

 

Transported, I feed my artistic aspirations in a fairy tale that I build and deconstruct according to my inspirations.

 

Freezing the beautiful is an opportunity to recall the fragility of the moment, the difficulty of grasping nature in its original paradox: permanence and change. I also like to capture behind my lens the different states of matter, like water that keeps changing, snow that melts, wood that dries, stone that gets polished…

 

But to persist in wanting to freeze only the beautiful would be to forget that nature destroys and destroys itself. My work has therefore evolved.

 

Freezing the beautiful seems to me incomplete and naive.

Is nature imperfect? No, she is ruthless, demanding. It is to imagine that the mountain does not kill, it is to deny fear, oblivion and death. It is not accepting that frozen snow, in an instant, turns into movement and that the avalanche swallows and annihilates.

 

The wonder of nature is found in its change. When I walk in the forest, I see that the roots of the trees, symbol of longevity, follow the course of their life and die. Life advances and does not wait. Nature is changing, like us men. This is why I need to keep these elusive states and emotions. I rediscover the need to maintain the immobile state by sculpting the material with solid elements such as wood, stone, cement and plaster; Thus creating a brand, an emotional memory, such as the photos from our childhood albums.

 

My sculptures are made of plaster or cement that I mix with alabaster powder or other minerals. Woodworking follows a long process, after being treated and removed from its impurities, the idea of movement appears and an emotion is born. It freezes permanently and that's why I tell my story.  

 

I find it essential to preserve the primary and natural state of the materials and my sculptures. This is why each base is worked and adapted differently according to the final result that I wish to give to my work. The base is an integral part of the room; it consists of natural materials, very often mineral.

Atelier

INSPIRATION & TRAVAIL EN ATELIER

Donner vie à des œuvres « naturelles » m’offre une occasion unique de lâcher prise. L’émotion m’envahit; elle diffuse l’intangible dans le tangible.

 

Transportée, je nourris mes aspirations d’artiste dans un conte de fée que je construis et déconstruis au gré de mes inspirations. 

 

Figer le beau est l’occasion de rappeler la fragilité de l’instant, la difficulté de saisir la nature dans son paradoxe originel : la permanence et le changement.J’aime aussi capturer derrière mon objectif les différents états de la matière, comme l’eau qui ne cesse de changer, la neige qui fond, le bois qui sèche, la pierre qui se polie…

 

Mais s’entêter à ne vouloir figer que le beau, serait oublier que la nature détruit et se détruit. Mon travail a donc évolué. 

 

Figer le beau me paraît incomplet et naïf.

Est-ce que la nature est imparfaite ? Non, elle est impitoyable, exigeante. C’est imaginer que la montagne ne tue pas, c’est nier la peur, l’oubli et la mort. C’est ne pas accepter que neige figée, en un instant, se transforme en mouvement et que l’avalanche avale et anéantit. 

 

La merveille de la nature se trouve dans son changement. Lorsque je me promène en forêt, je vois alors que les racines des arbres, symbole de longévité, suivent le cours de leur vie et meurent. La vie avance et n’attend pas. La nature se transforme, comme nous les hommes. C’est pourquoi j’ai besoin de conserver ces états et ces émotions qui sont insaisissables. Je retrouve le besoin de maintenir l’état immobile en sculptant la matière avec des élément solides comme le bois, la pierre, le ciment et le plâtre ; Créant ainsi une marque, un souvenir émotionnel, telles les photos de nos albums d’enfance.

 

Mes sculptures sont constituées de plâtre ou ciment que je mélange à de la poudre d'albâtre ou autres minéraux. Le travail du bois suit un processus long, après avoir été traité et enlevé de ses impuretés , l’idée du mouvement apparait et une émotion nait. Elle se fige de façon permanente et c’est en cela que je raconte mon histoire. 

 

Je trouve essentiel de conserver l’état primaire et naturel des matières et de mes sculptures. C’est pourquoi chaque socle est travaillé et adapté différemment en fonction du résultat final que je souhaite donner à mon œuvre. Le socle fait partie intégrante de la pièce ; il est constitué  de matières naturelles, très souvent minérales.