Mask

"This work is undoubtedly the most important in my catalog, for two reasons.

 

First, it symbolizes my personal development. When I started sculpture, I first tried to fit into the "classic" canons of beauty.

I had to walk, produce, shut myself up for hours in my studio, to understand and know intimately that intention was stronger than aesthetics. This mask is the illustration. I detached myself from the technique to release my emotions.

 

I learned through this work not to be afraid of my darkest memories. This mask is the face of terror, facing death.

While creating, I thought of a dear friend who died in the high mountains. Fueled with adrenaline, he wanted to climb ever higher, ever closer to the stars, forgetting the dangers. The attraction, the desire, the challenge won out. And time, for him, has stopped. This time that suspends its flight is symbolized by the two gold watches, mottled and chosen for this tribute. Chosen for him.

 

Today, I still wonder: was it I who created this mask, or was it what allowed me to rethink my practice? I only know one thing: I will continue on my way ... 'There is no chance in life, only dates'. I had a date with this mask. "

Description: Cement, clay, resin

Dimensions: 38 cm x 32 cm x 12 cm

Year: 2020

Masque

"Cette œuvre est sans doute la plus importante de mon catalogue, et ce, à double titre.

 

D'abord, elle symbolise mon évolution personnelle. Quand j'ai débuté la sculpture, je me suis attachée d'abord à essayer de m'inscrire dans les canons "classiques" de la beauté.

Il m'a fallu cheminer, produire, m'enfermer des heures dans mon atelier, pour comprendre et savoir intimement que l'intention était plus forte que l'esthétisme. Ce masque en est l'illustration. Je me suis détachée de la technique pour libérer mes émotions.

 

J'ai appris à travers cette œuvre à ne pas avoir peur de mes souvenirs les plus sombres. Ce masque est le visage de l'épouvante, face à la mort.

En créant, j'ai pensé à un ami cher, disparu en haute montagne. Dopé à l'adrénaline, il a voulu grimper toujours plus haut, toujours plus près des étoiles, oubliant les dangers. L'attrait, le désir, le challenge ont tout emporté. Et le temps, pour lui, s'est arrêté. Ce temps qui suspend son vol est symbolisé par les deux montres en or, chinées et choisies pour cet hommage. Choisies pour lui.

 

Aujourd'hui, je m'interroge encore : est-ce moi qui ai créé ce masque, ou est-ce lui qui m'a permis de repenser ma pratique ? Je ne sais qu'une chose : je vais continuer mon chemin... 'Il n'y a pas de hasard dans la vie, seulement des rendez-vous'. J'avais rendez-vous avec ce masque."

Description: Ciment, argile, resine

Dimensions: 38 cm x 32 cm x 12 cm

Annee: 2020